News & Events

Publication in IEEE RO-MAN 2019

A research paper titled “An Exploratory Study on Proxemics Preferences of Humans in Accordance with Attributes of Service Robots ’’ was presented at the 28th IEEE International Conference on Robot and Human Interactive Communication (RO-MAN) held from Oct 14 - 18 in New Delhi, India by Mrs. S. M. B. P. Samarakoon, who was a research assistant at the Center of Advanced Robotics, University of Moratuwa. Currently, she is a Ph.D. student at SUTD, Singapore.

Published on
2019/11/19 - 09:33

Speech on “Artificial Intelligence for Modern Society” at National Science Foundation

Chapa Sirithunge, a final year PhD student at the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Moratuwa participated at the Knowledge Sharing Program organized by the National Science Foundation. The event was held on 24th September at the National Science Foundation Auditorium. She delivered a speech on “Artificial Intelligence for Modern Society” on behalf of the National Science Foundation. Students, staff members and general public interested in the field of AI witnessed the event.

Published on
2019/10/14 - 12:09

Presentations at International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Soft Computing (ICAISC) 2019

H.M. Ravindu T. Bandara, B.M.S.S. Basnayake and K.S. Priyanayana postgraduate research students of intelligent service robotics group, Department of Electrical Engineering, presented three research papers at 19th International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Soft Computing ICAISC 2019 held from 21-25th June in Mercure Zakopane Kasprowy Hotelm, Zakopane, Poland.

Published on
2019/10/14 - 12:06

Intelligent Service Robotics group Present at IROS 2019

A work by the researchers from the Intelligent Service Robotics group- Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Moratuwa has been accepted at the IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS) 2019. IROS is a premier internal conference in the field of Robotics and it is in first 20 sources of Special category for Robotics in Google Scholar Metrics with h5 index of 58 . This year the conference will be held on November 4 - 8, in the Venetian Macao, Macau, China. 

Published on
2019/09/09 - 09:01

Attending the MLRS 2019

Sachi Natasha Edirisinghe, a research scholar at Intelligent Service Robotics  Group of the Department of Electrical Engineering attended the 1st Machine Learning Research School (MLRS) 2019. The event was held from 4-11 August at Digital Economy Promotion Agency (DEPA), Bangkok, Thailand.  The aim of this event was to provide a basic understanding of machine learning to participants. The program included tutorials, practical sessions, poster presentations and social events.  The tutorials were conducted by world-renowned machine learning experts.

Published on
2019/09/09 - 08:47

Summer schools on AI

Chapa Sirithunge, a doctoral student from the Intelligent Service Robotics group- Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Moratuwa attended The Advanced Course on AI (ACAI) 2019 and the 3rd Summer School on Cognitive Robotics, summer schools this year. ACAI was organized by the Technical University of Crete and funded by the European Association for Artificial Intelligence EurAI. The summer school was held in the Technical University of Crete, Chania, Greece from 1-5 July 2019.

Published on
2019/09/09 - 08:37

Presentation made by the 13th batch Students at the IEEE GTD ASIA 2019 in Bangkok

A technical paper based on the undergraduate project work of a 13th batch Electrical Engineering students, Shehani De Seram, Maheeshan Kumara, Gayashan Madhushanka, and Kasun Ranasinghe Sagara, titled “Techno-economic Feasibility Assessment of Implementation of Solar Tracking for Utility Scale Solar Photovoltaic Plants in Sri Lanka” was presented at the IEEE GTD Asia 2019 in Bangkok.

Published on
2019/05/28 - 13:49
13th batch