Higher Degrees Committee



The Higher Degrees Committee is a subcommittee of the Faculty Board of the Faculty of Engineering, which reviews matters relating to postgraduate degree programs and makes recommendations to the Faculty Board. It deals with matters such as postgraduate course curricula and syllabuses, selection of participants to postgraduate courses, applications for registration and Progress Monitoring of research students, postgraduate examinations, by-laws etc.




The Director of Postgraduate Studies is the ex-officio Chairman of the Higher Degrees Committee.





The current members of the Higher Degrees Committee are:






Prof. (Mrs.) C Jayasinghe Chairman / Director - Postgraduate Studies (Effective from 17th Feb. 2012)
Dr. AS Perera Convener / RC* - Computer Science & Engineering
Prof. JR Lucas Faculty Nominee
Prof. RGN De S Munasinghe Faculty Nominee
Dr. (Ms) MY Gunasekara RC* - Chemical & Process Engineering 
Prof. HS Thilakasiri RC* - Civil Engineering
Dr. LL Ekanayaka RC* Civil Engineering
Mr. HMR Premasiri RC* - Earth Resources Engineering
Dr. WDAS Rodrigo RC* - Electrical Engineering
Dr. KCB Wawegedara RC* - Electronics & Telecomm Engineering
Dr. TSG Peiris  RC* - Mathematics
Dr. (Ms) NMVK Liyanage RC* - Materials Engineering
Prof. (Mrs.) VM Wickramasinghe  RC* - Management of Technology
Dr. RARC Gopura  RC* - Mechanical Engineering
Dr. USW Gunasekara RC* - Textile & Clothing Technology
Dr. I Sigera RC* - Transport & Logistics Management

*  RC - Research Coordinator




Members of the Higher Degrees Committee act as Research Co-ordinators for each of the departments in the faculty for implementation of the Progress Monitoring program  for research degrees.

The Higher Degrees Committee meet once a month regularly (normally 3rd Thursday of the month), and forwards its recommendations to the Dean / Engineering for presentation to the Faculty Board.



Back to Postgraduate Studies Home Page

Last Updated 01.06.2013